CDIH

Full Version: Windows me to xp - Any recent upgraders here?
You're currently viewing a stripped down version of our content. View the full version with proper formatting.
Pages: 1 2
I am considering upgrading my o/s to XP from ME. Has anybody done this lately? Is it worth it?

I have read all the sugar-coated reviews by Microsoft, but, would like to hear some real-user opinions.
Windows XP has a whole slew of what MS is calling "undocumented features" (aka - bugs). I wouldn't do it if I were you. I work in a shop that supports over 5000 computers and we are staying away from XP like it's Snuka's mom. Too much trouble for what it's worth and what it has to offer.

ME is not much better than XP so you're right in wanting to upgrade. It has a lot of limitations. If you're serious about upgrading, go with Windows 2000. Make sure you install Service Pack 2 (downloadable from downloads.microsoft.com). You should be happy with it. It works a little different from Win98 but if you've ever used NT Workstation, you'll be very comfortable.

Give me a shout out if you need help with the 2k upgrade.
XP has lots of "bugs". Don't do it. While XP has alot of advantages right now, it's just not worth the hassle with all the bugs. Stick with ME for a few more months. The first Service Pack should be out in the summer (hopefully) which should fix some of the bugs.

I just bought a new computer 2 weeks ago and made them put 2K on instead of XP. I'll upgrade after the next release.
Yeah, what they said. :thumbs-up:
XP's fun, but only if your gutsy enough to get driver updates for every single piece of hardware you have, like I did, and some tweaking apps.
Side note: You might want to keep WinME on as a dual boot, because some stuff just won't work with XP or Win2K.
I'm thinking of downgrading my Win 2K to Win ME since my VAIO doesnt support much of Win 2K and they don't offer any drivers on their website for it. However Sony did post a bunch of drivers and updates for XP and ME.