CDIH
The unwritten rules of riding the elevator - Printable Version

+- CDIH (https://www.cdih.net/cdih)
+-- Forum: General Discussion and Entertainment (https://www.cdih.net/cdih/forumdisplay.php?fid=4)
+--- Forum: The Pit (https://www.cdih.net/cdih/forumdisplay.php?fid=9)
+--- Thread: The unwritten rules of riding the elevator (/showthread.php?tid=10678)

Pages: 1 2

- GonzoStyle - 10-19-2005

This has been one of those unimportant but puzzling questions that have been bothering me for years but I never really asked cause the moment passes usually.

For years I have noticed this trend of elevator rule but I wondered if it's just an anomoly, this applies to apartment buildings not work elevators like in big office buildings, cause I have no experience with those. When you're going up or down no matter which way and it stops on a certain floor and the person asks "up or down?", if they're going the opposite way then 9 out of 10 times they close the door and wait. I never understood it, is it somehow impolite? Are you disturbing the other persons ride, is it an offense?

I mean in reality you are wasting time because the elevator now has to make an extra stop to come back to where you are, instead of you having got on and then made the trip straight.

Did I miss some rule of elevator riding where you're not allowed to get on, if its not going your way? Plus you get to keep an eye on things, make sure the asshole doesn't push all the buttons and make your wait longer, or doesn't close the door properly, etc. I never ask and always get on, yet these assholes always make sure to announce "going up", yeah I don't care. I never do that and the load rags fuckin stand there and wait a few seconds then do the stupid up or down signal with their fingers, along with saying it, incase I miss the gesture.

- fbd - 10-19-2005

well if there are two or three elevators, it makes sense to wait for the one going the right way...but with one, no idea

- Keyser Soze - 10-19-2005