CDIH
Javascript - Help a brotha outta a jam - Printable Version

+- CDIH (https://www.cdih.net/cdih)
+-- Forum: Techie Geek Forums (https://www.cdih.net/cdih/forumdisplay.php?fid=5)
+--- Forum: Über Geek Zone (https://www.cdih.net/cdih/forumdisplay.php?fid=13)
+--- Thread: Javascript - Help a brotha outta a jam (/showthread.php?tid=2777)

- Metalfan - 07-25-2002

Mock my coding skills.....laugh at me for not knowing this....I really don't give a fuck. Just HELP ME!!!!

I am trying to do form validation using JS code and can't get past this error with the first field on my form:

'document.formname.fieldname.value' is not an object

HELLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLPPP!!!!

- Grumpy - 07-25-2002

I'm not a JS expert but I'm going to take a crack at it for you.

check your script to make sure that "'document.formname.fieldname.value' " is defined and attached to something. it looks like you're trying to link the form field to a database (if I'm presuming correctly). Make sure you have a clear cut link from the form value to the corresponding value in the database.

- Keyser Soze - 07-25-2002

AIM me, I need to see the full code.

- Sluggo - 07-25-2002

I haven't gotten to that in school yet...
But i was thinking along the same lines as Mr. Grump...

- Metalfan - 07-25-2002

Keyser - me no have AIM, so can't send full code :-(

Grump - your assumption is correct, but patching through to the database is a future step in this process. Right now I'm just trying to put form validation into place before connecting to the DB. Oh, and if this helps...the script works in Netscape but NOT in MSIE. Go figure!!

- Keyser Soze - 07-25-2002

email it to me

<!-- e --><a href="mailto:antderosa@yahoo.com">mailto:antderosa@yahoo.com</a><!-- e -->

- Grumpy - 07-25-2002